I recently came across a poster; you know the ones with motivational pictures, poems, quotes and the like. I really enjoyed the words it had to say. They are quite thought provoking and something that you may shrug reading for the first time as what you already know. I bought the poster, and it hangs on my wall right opposite to my bed; and let me tell you, it is something I read every morning and enjoy every time I read it. So it is not something one read and forgotten. It is one of the types which you read over and over again only to admire its beauty every time you read it.

 I would suggest multiple readings of the same and a few minutes after each time to realize how deep its meaning is.

 Here I quote it as it looks on the poster:

 

I asked God for strength,

That I might achieve.

I was made weak,

That I might learn humbly to obey.

 

I asked God for health,

That I might do greater things.

I was given infirmity,

That I might do better things.

 

I asked God for riches,

That I might be happy.

I was given poverty,

That I might be wise.

 

I asked for God for power,

That I might have the praise of men.

I was given weakness,

That I might feel the need of God

 

I asked God for things,

That I might enjoy life,

I was given life,

That I might enjoy all things.

 

I got nothing that I asked for,

But everything that I had hoped for.

Almost despite myself,

My unspoken prayers were answered.

 

I am among all men,

Most richly blessed.

 

We also frequently hear the proverb ‘everything happens for the best’; especially when something bad happens to us and the feeble minded people that most of us are ( including me), we wonder on, in which way was me bumping into someone and spilling coffee on my shirt good for me, or me getting stuck in traffic good for me. Well this tells us on how the biggest adversities in life pain us and make us suffer yet teach us something invaluable which we would not have learnt in any other way. Like if we sit and think, we may realize that that bumping was a result of carelessness when I turned in a doorway too fast and did not look ahead; or that traffic taught me patience or gave me time to listen to some good music on the radio or I might even start carrying a book in the car to read when I am stuck in traffic.

 

It is a long shot for someone like me to say that some good does come out of every situation, but if we look for the good, we might actually find it; whereas if we just focus on the suffering, we just add to our woes. 🙂

 

Also, some wise man once said, ‘Every cloud has a silver lining.’

 

Bidai.

2 thoughts on “

  1. punittak says:

    Thanks for this awesome post.

    adding one more thing for traffic incident that we should learn to be punctual.

    Nice message, keep posting good stuff.

Glad you wish to comment, Please let me know what you feel :)

