Ice Cubes


We have all heard the phrase, ‘We are all one’, or, ‘We are all gods’, or, ‘We are all part of the same atma’, and so on. So while reading a spiritual book recently, which I often do alongside reading scientific articles, I came across an example which appealed to me in the most basic and simple of ways. So I wanted to share it with my readers.

It is not that I am still completely convinced of the fact that God created man and everything else we see, or that Darwin was a fool to say that we actually ‘Evolved’. But I believe in hearing both sides of the story. If you wish to find the truth in an argument, or wish to pass an informed judgment on a case, you need to look at the arguments from both perspectives, think like what either party thinks; and not be limited to what you personally believe. This is the reason that I read spiritual books all the time, to understand what the theists say about God, and also so that I may understand better where to pass scientific judgments and what are the places where science falls short in explaining what the theists claim to be God’s will/hand in action.

Before I begin the example which I intend to share in this post, let me apprise you with what that example intends to explain. There are 3 fundamental ideas, if you may call it that, which to some extent convey what Hindu mystics teach us:

  1. God is always with you and around you. He is always to you left, right, front, behind you, and even above and below you.
  2. God is in you, and you are in God.
  3. You are God, and God is you, so you and God are essentially one.

Now the example: [I shall be adding a few comments through the example in braces.]

Imagine a glass of water with a few ice cubes floating in it. An imaginary conversation takes place between the ice cubes and water.

Water: Ice cubes, I am always with you, I am all around you, I am to your left, right, above and below you.

[We all agree that this is true.]

Water: Ice cubes, you are in me and I am in you.

[This is true too.]

Water: Ice cubes, I am water, you are water, we are all water, we are one and the same.

[There goes the third point, which is also true in this case. Now the ice cubes answer to the declarations given by water.]

First Ice Cube: I am not water. I am an Ice Cube. I am the most perfect and beautiful form in the universe. All my sides are equal, and what is really unique is that all the sides are at perfect right angles to each other. How can anyone imagine that I am mere Water? I am an ICE CUBE.

Second Ice Cube: Brother what you say is absolutely true, but do not forget that I am very special. I am in Indian Ice Cube, very ancient, and very learned in all the scriptures.

Third Ice Cube: Well, don’t forget that I am an American Ice Cube, from the most developed and progressive nation in the world. Of course, you don’t stand anywhere close to me, I am the most special Ice Cube there is.

Fourth Ice Cube: I am sure you have heard of the small and modest donation of $ 10 Million that I made to ‘Cry’ yesterday; now you tell me which is the most special Ice cube here?

This way all the Ice cubes quarrel and try to prove their dominance over each other stating arguments for their being ‘special’. They are all so busy and obsessed with their temporary identities that they forget that in essence they are indeed the same water. They have no time to pause and ask the question, ‘Who am I?’

This example made a point that whatever we are, wherever we are, we are the same; in a very nice way. It really appealed to me, so I decided to share it with you. Does make you think.

My sincere apologies for using any regionalist or religionist examples, please understand, they were just to make a point.

Fiimaan Illaah

12 thoughts on “Ice Cubes

  1. Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve visited this web site before but after looking at a few of the posts I realized it’s new
    to me. Anyways, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be
    book-marking it and checking back often!

  2. Nandini says:

    That was a good one! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    When we try to have a larger perspective, things change their meaning and it gets easier to live. Much more peaceful and happier. Just an example- Try imagining yourself sitting in space and watching our tiny planet. No boundaries, nothing. Right.

  3. Exactly. Glad you liked it, and thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  4. I am sure this paragraph has touched all the internet visitors, its really really pleasant post on building up new
    weblog.

  5. I like the valuable info you provide on your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your weblog and check once more right here regularly. I am fairly certain I will learn many new stuff proper right here! Best of luck for the next!

  6. Shari says:

    I for all time emailed this weblog post page to all my friends, for the reason that
    if like to read it after that my contacts will too.

  7. web site says:

    I’m amazed, I have to admit. Seldom do I
    encounter a blog that’s both equally educative and
    interesting, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail
    on the head. The problem is something that not enough folks are speaking intelligently
    about. I am very happy I came across this in my hunt for something regarding this.

  8. Pretty! This has been a really wonderful post. Thank you for providing these details.

  9. webpage says:

    An impressive share! I have just forwarded this onto a colleague who had been doing a little homework on
    this. And he in fact ordered me dinner due to the fact that I
    found it for him… lol. So let me reword this…. Thanks for the
    meal!! But yeah, thanks for spending time to talk about
    this subject here on your web page.

  10. web page says:

    Thanks for your personal marvelous posting! I really enjoyed reading
    it, you could be a great author. I will make sure to bookmark your blog and will eventually come back from now on.
    I want to encourage you to definitely continue your great writing, have a nice morning!

Glad you wish to comment, Please let me know what you feel :)

